Axminster Community Emergency Response (ACER)

Second Lockdown Information

  • This lockdown is not like the last. The first time around, there were a lot of gaps in services and there were far more restrictions than in the current situation. Most people are now accessing the services they require or have made their own support arrangements with family, friends, or neighbours. All of ACERS' participating organisations are still in operation independently and continuing to provide members of our community with the support they need.

    What does this mean for ACER? At the moment, we will not be providing the same ACER service as before. We will, however, continue to monitor the situation closely, and should we identify any gaps in support, the ACER team will look for ways to plug them swiftly. In the meantime, we will continue to promote all of the resources available to help you access the help and support you may need.

    Who to call: If you need help and fall into the Clinically Extremely Vulnerable (CEV) category, need help accessing food or medication, you are feeling isolated, or you are not sure where to go for advice:

    NHS Volunteer Responders

    Phone: 0808 196 3646 (8am to 8pm, 7 days a week).

    web: NHS Volunteer Responders

    East Devon District Council Support Hub

    phone: 01395 571 500 (8.30am - 5pm)


    web: East Devon District Council Support Hub

    Advice about the Services provided by Devon County Council

    phone: 0345 155 1015 (general enquiries line)


    web: Devon CC Advice Centre

    If, after contacting the above authorities, you are still struggling to get the support you need, please call Cindy at ACER (07930 800 225) or message us on the ACER Facebook page, and we will try to help you access local support.

    ! In the case of a medical emergency call 999 !

  • From County Cllr. Ian Hall: Regarding Household Waste Recycling Centres (HWRC’s), residents can be reassured that we will not be closing the centres. There may be occasions where we have staff shortages, and some temporary closure may be necessary but we will notify residents about any situation that arises due to staff sickness/isolation.

  • For details of retail outlets open during this second lockdown, please visit the Totally Locally website

East Devon Coronavirus Community Support Hub

We’re here to help you through the new national restrictions


With a national lockdown now in place, East Devon District Council wants to make sure that its most vulnerable residents know where to come for help. The Government is sending a letter to clinically extremely vulnerable residents where they will get guidance on what to do during lockdown and asking them to register online so they can request support from their local council.


We’re here to help those who need assistance at this difficult time, whether you are clinically extremely vulnerable, if you are self-isolating, suffering financial hardship or in need. If you need help, our website has a wealth of information about how you can access assistance. You can read this information at the EDDC Coronavirus help page


If you are unable to find what you need, please complete our coronavirus community support hub web form and we will be in contact with you. If you don’t have access to our website or are unable to complete the web form, call our dedicated Coronavirus Community Support Hotline on 01395 571500 (open Monday to Friday from 9am to 5pm). We have a dedicated team who can help if you are, for example:
  • Clinically extremely vulnerable
  • Vulnerable, for example aged over 70, pregnant or housebound
  • Feeling isolated
  • Struggling financially due to Coronavirus
  • Unable to access food or other services
  • Not sure on where to go for help and advice
We are working alongside more than 60 local community support groups and some town and parish councils, to help people find support. We can put people in touch with commercial organisations, voluntary groups and others to help with such services as grocery and food orders, and deliveries. Our team members are also a friendly voice at the end of the phone for anyone who lives alone. Relatives and neighbours of the vulnerable and elderly are asked to make sure that their relations and friends are aware of the support hub and everything it can offer them.

The council also has a hardship fund available for those who are affected by coronavirus and who may not be able to access funding or support from elsewhere.  The aim of the fund is to address the economic vulnerability and financial hardship being felt and to help rebuild the financial resilience of those affected. We will also consider using the fund to help anyone who is facing financial hardship and unable to afford food even if they have not been directly impacted by coronavirus, such as those who are struggling to provide meals to their children during school holidays or half term.

The fund can be used for many different things such as access to emergency short term support through shopping vouchers, utility top ups, paying for essential travel needs or essential advice and support services.  For more information about the hardship fund, see the council’s website for more information at the Hardship Fund page

Cllr Jess Bailey, who is the district council’s portfolio holder for Corporate Services & Covid 19 Response & Recovery, said: “Many residents across East Devon will be worried about the introduction of new national restrictions. “Some of our residents will be worried about feeling isolated during this time, others will have financial worries and some may have practical concerns about accessing shopping or prescriptions. “At East Devon District Council, we are here to help and we urge you to contact the hub with your concerns. If the hub cannot help directly it will point you to the right agency or organisation that can.”

ACER statistics May 2020

A message from the Mayor

Axminster Town Council hosted a meeting with several community groups in response to the outbreak of Coronavirus (COVID-19). This meeting was also attended by Town, District, and County Councillors.

The Town council, in conjunction with these groups, are planning a strategy to offer support to the local community.

It will come as no surprise to our residents that we found that there is already a great deal of support in place from individual volunteers and community organisations and this can be enhanced to extend its availability where and when that becomes necessary. 

Until we are fully up and running please continue to use your existing support.

Observe all the health advice currently available, and of course in the event of a real emergency, call the emergency services.

We’ll be with you soon.  Please bookmark this page, so you can keep an eye on updates and information that is to be added.

Stay well

Anni Young

Mayor of Axminster