Weycroft Permissive Path

Published: 28 March 2017

The initiative is a joint venture between All Saints Parish Council and Axminster Town Council as a Towns and Parishes Together Fund Project (using money to each parish from Devon County Council and East Devon District Council) as both knew that their residents wanted a safe pedestrian route between Weycroft and Millwey Rise rather than having to dice with death by walking along the busy main road.

A permissive path is a path which an owner has given the public permission to use but the permission can be withdrawn at any time as it is not a public right of way. This project has been made possible thanks to the co-operation of land owner Mr. Nigel Burton and his family and generous additional financial contributions from Devon County Council’s “Invest in Devon Fund” and Locality Budget funds, as well as Axminster Town Council’s Community Benefit Fund.


Before cutting the tape, Cllr. Moulding said “I am delighted that partnership funding has enabled the construction of this important path, which now provides a circular route for pedestrians, runners and dog-walkers. I must thank the Burton family for making the land available; the Burrough family, who are the tenant farmers; architectural surveyor Andrew Wilkinson; Public Rights of Way Officers Ros Mills and Emma Hellier; the contractor Mr Chris Drake and Town Clerk, Hilary Kirkcaldie for her hard work in bringing the project together. I’m sure this path will be greatly appreciated by the local community.”

The Town Council has had lots of very positive feedback regarding the path and it is great to see that it is being used already by residents.


One member of the public said “The Burton Family and the Council are darlings for allowing this path to be made. It is wonderful to be able to walk right round and not have to go through the housing”.


In the attached photograph the people are from L-R : Cllr. Tony Nixon (All Saints Parish Council), Chris Drake (for contractors Garden and Countryside Maintenance), Cllr. Andrew Moulding, Chairman of Devon County Council, Cllrs. Mrs. Sue Spiller, John Jeffery and Graham Godbeer (Axminster Town Council), Ms. Ros Mills (Devon County Council Public Rights of Way Manager) and Miss Hilary Kirkcaldie (Clerk to Axminster Town Council).