Axminster Town Council

Town Mayor: Cllr Jill Farrow Town Clerk: Paul Hayward



Minutes of the Annual Parish Meeting held Monday 4th March 2024

To be approved at Annual Parish Meeting 2025 – date yet to be determined.

Present:

Chair of the Council – Cllr. Jill Farrow Town Clerk – Paul Hayward Representative of The Environment Agency (speaker) Chris Khan Representative of EDDC Emergency Planning Office (speaker) David Whelan EDDC Cllrs. Sarah Jackson and Simon Smith 18 members of the public

1. Opening of the meeting; introduction and welcome

Introduction by the Mayor of Axminster, Cllr Jill Farrow who warmly welcomed all those present to the Annual Parish Meeting and highlighted the fire safety procedure and fire exits.

2. Apologies:

Apologies received from Town Cllrs. Bourne & Bruce and County Councillor Hall.

3. Minutes of the last meeting:

Minutes of the last Annual Parish Meeting held on Monday 27th March 2023 were considered and noted. Cllr. Farrow proposed the adoption of the minutes from the chair. These were resolved by the majority of those present by way of a show of hands. Cllr. Farrow signed the minutes as a true and accurate record of the meeting.

4. No matters arising from those previous minutes.

5&6. To receive joint presentation from the EA and EDDC on matters relating to flooding, and emergency planning.

Chair thanked both speakers for attending in the evening. Representations from those present: Concerns over future anticipated flood events at Stoney Bridge from residents. Criticism of EA/EDDC/Town Council to prevent flood damage to properties in that area. Suggestions/requests that a parish emergency plan/protocol (PEP) be created by the Town Council Agreement from Chair of the Town Council that issue will be added to FULL Town Council agenda on 11/3/24. Offers of help from EDDC and EA to support creation of a PEP with advice, resource and funding.

At this point of the meeting, 8 members of the public left prior to the Town Mayor's report.

Axminster Town Council, The Guildhall, West Street, Axminster, Devon, EX13 5NX Monday - Thursday 9am - 4pm

01297 32088

enquiries@axminstertowncouncil.gov.uk

www.axminstertowncouncil.gov.uk

Axminster Town Council

Town Mayor: Cllr Jill Farrow Town Clerk: Paul Hayward



7. The Town Mayor's 2023/2024 report.

Cllr. Farrow read out a report which has been published on the town noticeboard and on the website and via social media for public review and reference.

8. Town Council's Budget and Precept report for financial year 2024/2025.

RFO read out the budget and precept report which has been also published on the town noticeboard and on the website and via social media for public review and reference. This report set out the Council's financial proposals and plans, and details of the Town Council precept, for the next financial year.

9. Parish Footpath / P3 report.

In the absence of the Honorary Footpath Warden, the Clerk outlined the ongoing work to maintain and safeguard the town's footpath network under the auspices of the DCC P3 scheme. The annual survey had not yet been completed due to inclement weather and resource issues. Consequently, this had impacted on the Clerk's ability to submit the annual financial statement and P3 bid submission forms. These were in hand to be completed by the deadline date. Noted.

10. East Devon District Councillor's annual report.

This was presented verbally by ClIrs. Sarah Jackson and Simon Smith (with ClIr. Paul Hayward also present in his role as Clerk to the Town Council). A hard copy will be provided to the Town Council to be published on the Town Council's website with the Chair's agreement.

11. Devon County Councillor's annual report.

No annual report provided by Cllr. Hall. Noted.

12. Open Public Forum

One representation from member of the public, disappointed by low turnout and absence of others. They thanked members of Council for their efforts, together with Council employees.

13. To consider any demands to hold a parish poll as requested by those present in accordance with paragraph 18 (Schedule 12) of the Local Government Act 1972.

No requests were made for a Parish Poll by those present. Cllr. Farrow Closed this section of the meeting.

Axminster Town Council, The Guildhall, West Street, Axminster, Devon, EX13 5NX Monday - Thursday 9am - 4pm

01297 32088

enquiries@axminstertowncouncil.gov.uk

www.axminstertowncouncil.gov.uk

Axminster Town Council

Town Mayor: Cllr Jill Farrow Town Clerk: Paul Hayward



14. A closing statement by Town Mayor, Cllr. Jill Farrow.

Cllr. Jill Farrow brought the meeting to a close by thanking those members of the public who regularly attended the town Council meetings, the members of Council who gave up their time to represent Axminster and the staff of the Council for their efforts, all year round. The Mayor stressed that the Council operated in an open and transparent manner, that all meetings were open to the public, that the Council engaged where it could with residents via print, online means and face-to-face, be that at regular Cllr surgeries, community events or simply by Councillors being visible in their community.

15. With no other business to attend to, the chair brought the meeting to a close at 8.45pm.

Axminster Town Council, The Guildhall, West Street, Axminster, Devon, EX13 5NX Monday - Thursday 9am - 4pm

- 01297 32088
- enquiries@axminstertowncouncil.gov.uk
- www.axminstertowncouncil.gov.uk